Zayed Future Energy Prize Calls for Entries for $4 Million Prize

Zayed Future Energy Prize Calls for Entries for $4 million prize seeks nominations and submissions before 27 June' 16 deadline! - Categories: -Large Corporation, Small and Medium Enterprise (SME), Non-Profit Organisation, Global High Schools, and nominations for the Lifetime Achievement Award -Submission for Entry is FREE

Jury Members of Zayed Future Energy Prize -2016Jury Members of Zayed Future Energy Prize -2016

Zayed Future Energy PrizeZayed Future Energy Prize

New Delhi, Delhi, April 18, 2016 /India PRwire/ -- Individuals, organisations and schools across Asia that are transforming lives through sustainable actions are being urged to enter the UAE's international award for pioneers of renewable energy and sustainability, the Zayed Future Energy Prize, online before the 27 June closing date for the 2017 edition.

Highlights of Zayed Future Energy Prize

The total prize fund of US$4 million is distributed amongst five categories:-

  • Large Corporation : Recognition Award
  • Small and Medium Enterprise (SME) : $1.5 million
  • Non-Profit Organisation (NPO/NGO) : $1.5 million
  • Lifetime Achievement : $500,000
  • Global High Schools: $500,000, divided into up to $100,000 across five regions (the Americas, Europe, Africa, Asia and Oceania)

Evaluation: Each Category is evaluated based on four criteria - Impact, Innovation, Leadership and Long-Term Vision.

In three of its five categories, the Zayed Future Energy Prize seeks submissions from small and medium enterprises (SMEs), non-profit organisations (NPOs) and high schools. In the two remaining categories, the public may nominate any eligible large corporations and leading individuals.

The Zayed Future Energy Prize recognises innovative solutions addressing energyaccess, energy security and environmental challenges. More than 202 million people have positively experienced the sustainable actions of the prize's winners to date.

Mr. Ratan Tata, Chairman Emeritus of Tata Sons and member of the Zayed Future Energy Prize Jury, said: "This has been another outstanding year for the Zayed Future Energy Prize. The record number of submissions is a testament to its growing reach. This is made all the more impressive by the diversity of those that apply to be part of this global community."

Last January, nine winners were presented with the Zayed Future Energy Prize during the eighth awards ceremony in Abu Dhabi. In attendance was United Nations Secretary General Ban Ki-moon and seven heads of state.

Dr. Nawal Al-Hosany, Director of the Zayed Future Energy Prize, said "The Zayed Future Energy Prize recognises and rewards those who have a vision for a better, more sustainable world. In doing so it empowers solutions in sustainability and clean energy that are addressing the world's most pressing global challenges."

Former Prime Minister of Norway Dr. Gro Harlem Brundtland received the Lifetime Achievement award for her long-term and steadfast commitment to sustainability and sustainable development. Dr. Brundtland is the Vice Chair of the UN Foundation and Deputy Chair of The Elders, an independent group of global leaders working together for peace and human rights.

The Zayed Future Energy Prize Jury:

  • v Chair, H.E. Ólafur Ragnar Grímsson, President of the Republic of Iceland
  • v Vice-Chair, Dr. Han Seung-Soo, former prime minister, Republic of Korea
  • v His Excellency Felipe Calderón, former President of Mexico
  • v Her Excellency Dr Amal Al Qubaisi, President and Speaker of the Federal National Council, Member of the Executive Council - Abu Dhabi
  • v Sir Richard Branson, founder, Virgin Group
  • v Ratan Tata GBE, Chairman Emeritus, Tata Sons
  • v Adnan Amin, director-general, International Renewable Energy Agency
  • v Ahmed Ali Al Sayegh, chairman, Global Marketplace Abu Dhabi
  • v Kathy Calvin, president and chief executive officer, United Nations Foundation
  • v Dr. Mohamed A. El-Erian, Chief Economic Advisor at Allianz SE and Chair of President Obama's Global Development Council

The Large Corporation category prize was awarded to Chinese electric vehicles manufacturer BYD. Tanzanian energy access business Off. Grid Electric was the winner in the SME category, while Indonesian non-profit organisation Kopernik was announced as the winner in the NPO category. Joining them were five schools spanning five regions of the globe, whom were the winners in the Global High Schools category.

Chairman Wang Chaunfu of BYD said: "The Zayed Future Energy Prize is an important initiative to inspire people and organisations to create solutions for the future of energy generation, storage and usage, as well as tackling climate change and promoting sustainable development in the energy sector at a global level."

For the latest edition of the prize, a record 1,437 entries were received from 97 countries. The US$4 million prize that empowers and rewards innovators in the fields of renewable energy and sustainability has now recognised 48 pioneers since its inception in 2008. There have been a combined total of more than 8,500 nominations and submissions from around 100 countries worldwide over that period and average year-on-year growth is close to 40% for each year of the prize's lifetime.

Each year, the prize evaluates entries in each category based on their impact, innovation, leadership and long-term vision. It is at the end of this stringent evaluation process that the members of the Jury decide upon the winners.

Visit the Zayed Future Energy Prize website at, for more information on how to submit entries for the 2017 awards in the SME, NPO and Global High Schools categories, or to nominate companies and leading individuals in the Large Corporation and Lifetime Achievement Award categories.

Notes to Editor

About the Zayed Future Energy Prize

The Zayed Future Energy Prize was established by the UAE leadership in 2008 in honour of the environmental, social, and economic sustainability advocated by the nation's founding father, Sheikh Zayed bin Sultan Al Nahyan. More than 200 million people are experiencing the sustainable actions of the prize's 48 winners to date. The 9th Zayed Future Energy Prize is open for entries. Enter online at

Journalists and Bloggers
Visit India PRwire for Journalists for releases, photos, email alerts and customized feeds just for Media.

If you have any query regarding information in the press releases, please contact the company listed in the press release itself. Please do not call India PRwire, we will be unable to assist you with your inquiry.

BUZZ communications recent press release(s)

Calco Poly Technik, Master in Efficiency... Leader in Delivery!

CalcoPoly Technik is India's fastest growing enterprise, providing its Customers with value added products, services and innovative solutions encompassing product development in different market verticals.

La Trobe boosts ties with India

Australia's La Trobe University has further strengthened its relationship with India by unveiling a number of new initiatives as part of La Trobe's 50th Anniversary Celebrations.

KONE - Elevators &Escalators, Opens a larger office in Nagpur! Moves closer to customers!

Ranked as one of the World's 100 Most Innovative Companies by Forbes for the 6th consecutive year New Office to enhance service levels to existing customers and handle growing demand in Vidharba region Today company offers Sales & Service Network across 40 + locationspan India

La Trobe Business School, Australia makes New Announcements to cater to Indian Students!

NEW intake in November - NEW & Restructured Courses and - Scholarships to meet ever-growing demand from Students

JalKranti - A water movement in Sohna Block, district Gurugram

JalKranti - A water movement in Sohna Block, district Gurugram. this was followed by Partnership was announced between NIF and Cambridge University Press and 'Navjyoti Youth Leadership Program'